Posts tagged children's books
Fledgling review: Inkdeath by Cornelia Funke

InkDeath is the final enthralling chapter to the InkHeart trilogy. After being pulled into the InkWorld by Meggie’s voice in InkSHeart (the first book) she and Farid have finally split ways due to the rift created by the sacrifice of Dustfinger in exchange for Farid’s life. But the death of Dustfinger is not the only tragedy to befall them, for The Adderhead has become immortal and set his brother-in- law the Milksop as ruler of Ombra. Mo has fully transformed into the Bluejay, a masked hero who fools the rich and defends the poor, known as the White Hand of Justice. In a foolish venture Mo is captured and is taken to the Castle on the Lake by Her Ugliness to await her father the Adderhead’s arrival with all her hope staked on one card.

But who are the heroes of this story? Can the Black Prince, Mo’s fellow Black Hand of Justice, save him and all the children of Ombra from the Piper, The Adderhead’s tin nosed herald? Will the Ugliness’ bet pay off? What does death really mean? Find out by reading the grand finale to the InkHeart trilogy!

 Cornelia Funke uses some amazing description when setting up her locations in this whole trilogy. Every place has at least a paragraph devoted not just to where a place is and what it looks like, but why it is the way it is as well. For example, when Fenoglio walks into Ombra castle with Meggie in the second book InkSpell, he thinks about how happy he is with the way it came into existence, through his writing of course.

 Funke describes the birdsong of the Gold Mockers of Ombra castle and how Fenoglio spent so long describing them in his InkHeart. When the Castle on the Lake is described Funke draws in your mind how the lake was the best defensive weapon imaginable; as the lakes bridge was only wide enough for one rider and it was so deep a giant couldn’t walk through it, nor boats cross it due to the monsters Her Ugliness’ great-grandfather bred in it. The plot is filled with unimaginable twists and turns alongside characters who come back to haunt you. This is my second favourite set of books.

Review by Sam

Fledgling review: The Last Duchess by Laura Powell

Dragons and duchesses..Pattern meets them all. Her Highness Eleri, Pattern's mistress and best friend, suspects her uncle Prince Leopold of disguised crop destruction and child kidnapping. Accusing her uncle of plotting murder, Eleri's suspicions take a turn as a wonderful twist takes place.
An amazing mystery story perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Katherine Woodfine and other mystery writers.

Review by Sine

One adventurous girl, sent to work for the duchess-to-be of Elfinheim, one ancient conspiracy…  What could possibly go wrong?  When Pattern is sent to be lady’s maid in the far kingdom of Elfinheim she is caught up in a plot lasting for decades whilst making a friend for life.  Can she stopthe conspiracy and save countless souls, or will her mistress and best friend become the Last Duchess of Elfinheim.  A fast-paced, action-packed tale full of fun, feisty, females, The Last Duchess is the ultimate comeback for people who say girls can’t star in adventure stories!

Review by Edie

Fledgling Review: Demon Headmaster: Total Control by Gillian Cross

I didn’t think I would, but I loved The Demon Headmaster: Total control

Lizzie, the troublemaker, acts like any other girl quiet and shy at times but all together a big bundle of fun.

Tyler, the mechanical magician, helps the group in an extraordinary yet peculiar way.

Angelika, the coffee stall owner, again finds a way to save the school in an accidental but crazy way.  

Last but not least Ethan, the brains, the thinker, the smart one, thinks up strange ideas that end up being spectacular and extremely inventive.

 I think that any mystery lover should read this book as I couldn’t put it down!

Review by Rosie

demon.jpg
18618183_1568195713200268_1160661474_o.jpg
Fledgling Review: Chase by Linwood Barclay

If this was the shortest review in the world I would just say 'I loved it, you should just buy it'. But it isn't. The book was amazing. The characters were so funny. If I met one of these characters I would straight away become friends with them. Chase was so unique in a brilliant way.

 The book is about a boy (Jeffery) and a dog (Chipper) who find each other while running away. Later Jeffery finds out the dog is special. He hides it from his aunt who does not like dogs. Find out what happens in the rest of the book, Chase.

 This book was amazing, but a little slow start. There wasn't much description. I would recommend it to ages 9 and over for there is a couple of bits of quite mild bad language. 

 It's funny, thrilling and an adventurous book. What's not to like? It is no ordinary book. It is a book that stands out and practically glows. If you haven't read this yet you aren't alive. Beg your parents for this. You can't miss this book. Whatever you do, don't doubt it! 

Review by Albie

 

 

Fledgling Review: Rose Campion and the Curse of the Doomstone by Lyn Gardner

When a precious stone rumoured to be cursed is stolen, Rose and her friends are on the case.  And when one of Rose’s friends is framed, they know they have to work hard to solve the mystery.  But with so many people acting suspiciously, who could have done it?  The gripping second novel in the Rose Campion series, the Curse of the Doomstone has a brilliant plot with a surprising twist at the end.

Review by Edie