Back to All Events

Nina Allan: The Dollmaker - Hunting Raven presents

  • The Archangel (The Naval Room) 1 King Street Frome, England, BA11 1BH United Kingdom (map)
The Dollmaker (event image).jpg

We are proud to present the award-winning Guardian Fresh Voices author Nina Allan with her latest novel The Dollmaker. With its South West setting, and parts of the book set in a town modelled on Frome, we simply had to share it with you...

Stitch by perfect stitch, Andrew Garvie makes exquisite dolls in the finest antique style. Like him, they are diminutive, but graceful, unique and with surprising depths. Perhaps that's why he answers the enigmatic personal ad in his collector's magazine.

Letter by letter, Bramber Winters reveals more of her strange, sheltered life in an institution on Bodmin Moor, and the terrible events that put her there as a child. Andrew knows what it is to be trapped; and as they knit closer together, he weaves a curious plan to rescue her.

The Dollmaker is one of the Guardian's 'Must Read' books of 2019 and is perfect for fans of Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist and Laura Purcell's The Silent Companion. Born in East London, Nina studied German and Russian at Exeter University and Corpus Christi College, Oxford, where she completed an MLitt and monograph on madness, death and disease in the fiction of Vladimir Nabokov. Her 2017 book The Rift, won the British Science Fiction Award.

There will be a Q&A and book signing after the event.

Tickets £5 or £14.99 with a book available on Eventbrite or in shop

'A fantastic book' Andrew O'Hagan
'Wholly original - worthy of a modern Grimm' Andrew Caldecott (Rotherweird)
'A masterful and multi-layered haunted toyshop of a novel' Tony White (The Fountain in the Forest)